top of page

The Committee to Re-Imagine SFAI

Dear SFAA,

The SFAI Re-Imagine Committee is an autonomous committee empowered by the Board of Trustees, is fully focused on re-imagining what it takes to prepare emerging artists in the year 2021 and beyond.

The three co-chairs, Chris Williams (BFA 2017, MFA 2020), Tom Loughlin (MFA 2013), and Karen Topakian (MFA 1987), formed the Committee with representation from tenured faculty (Lindsey White and Cristóbal Martínez; alternates: Brett Reichman and Claire Daigle), adjunct faculty (Matt Borruso and Jennifer Locke; alternates: Orit Ben Shitrit and Irene Carvajal), staff (Zeina Barakeh and Ana Suek; alternate: Kat Trataris), alumni (Annie Reiniger, Emily Reynolds and Rye Purvis) and students who were enrolled in Spring 2020 (Oscar Lopez and Kav Hambira).

By the end of December, the Committee will deliver a proposal to the board that responds to the questions in the Board’s charge (see link below).

Since holding its first weekly meeting in August, the Committee has built a working team who now lead and populate the following seven sub-committees – Pedagogy, Degree + Non-degree programs; Diversity, Equity and Inclusion + Culture; Development + Partnerships; Finance; Governance; Marketing + Communications + Enrollment; Sustainability and Environmental Justice.

The sub-committees, which also meet weekly, focus on re-imagining SFAI within their specific area. Their reports and plans will ultimately form the basis of the plan provided to the board.

In order to keep the SFAI community engaged and informed about our work, the Committee has held a series of Town Halls (two in July and two in September) where we have sought feedback to help us incorporate other viewpoints and perspectives into the plan.

We will continue to hold monthly Town Halls until the end of the year. At our November Town Hall, set for Friday, November 6 from 2 - 3:30 PM, we will present a progress report on our sub-committees’ findings and ideas.


Follow this link to register for the Town Hall: 

Re-Imagine Town Hall Zoom Meeting

Follow this link to watch the Town Hall if you missed it: 

Re-Imagine Town Hall Video

For more information about the Committee to Re-Imagine SFAI please follow the links below:

Alumni participation and insight is key to the Re-Imagining process. To get involved or learn more, contact the Committee Co-Chairs at

Thank you,

Chris Williams BFA’ 17, MFA'20, Tom Loughlin MFA'13 and Karen Topakian MFA’87

bottom of page