top of page

1963 Bruce Conner, Adaline Kent, Nealie Sullivan, Jerry Burchard

In 1963 Bruce Conner received the Nealie Sullivan Award which had been established by artist and alumnae, Adaline Kent as a tribute to Sullivan, a long-time staff member at SFAI.  The award would later be known as the Adaline Kent Award which honored California artists with an exhibition at SFAI and an honorarium.  The prestigious honor began in 1959 with Manuel Neri and included such artists as Richard Berger, Roy De Forest, James Melchert, Howard Fried, Joan Brown, Carlos Villa, Jay DeFeo, Terry Allen, Carrie Mae Weems, David Ireland, Ernie Gehr and Katherine Sherwood.  The accompanying brochure for the 1963 show included a portrait of Conner in his studio by Jerry Burchard.

With permission, SFAA is re-posting the emails Jeff Gunderson Librarian/Archivist Anne Bremer Memorial Library has been sending out since March 2020. Please enjoy this magnificent archive.


bottom of page